Wall

image

Painted wall at Loyola University in New Orleans, LA

Fences and walls can be effective and even soothing, at least for those who build them.
-Richard Engel

Yesterday, the flute studio went to Loyola University for a flute convention. I’m searching the market for a new instrument (mine is pretty used up) and never played so many flutes at one time! It was a super-long day. I woke up at four and didn’t get the chance to sleep until 12:30 am. My eyes were glued together this morning…

Anyway, as my fellow flutist and I hunted down an ATM I found this beautifully painted wall! (What wasn’t so pretty was that it was hiding construction and chaos…) It seems to be painted patterns with other interrupting designs. I wish someone could have explained it further to me, but I did notice that on some sections there were names of departments and groups at Loyola (such as Engineering, Jesuit community, etc). I seems like the artists who constructed this wall wanted to represent and bring together the very diverse people around school. It celebrated unity!

Of course, that is the literal meaning I made of it. The metaphorical idea I formulated is slightly deeper. We all imprison ourselves behind colorful walls so that we appear a certain way to the outside world, but really we are quite different than our exterior. We hide, like the construction, all of our troubles and bad memories. We close that up so no one will see sadness and regret.
If the main purpose of this wall was to hide the ugly construction, perhaps I’ve read this accurately.

❤ Michelle

4 thoughts on “Wall

Leave a Reply

