Growing, Learning, and Becoming More Confused

Life has a way of slapping the shit out of you when you aren’t expecting it. Growing up means higher levels of education, a job (or two), growing responsibility, bigger mistakes, love, breaking away from loved ones and friends…….goodness so many factors.

Like everyone at my age, I discover terrifying things about life on a weekly basis (if not everyday). I’ve been finding my daydreams wandering through national tragedies and terrorism, and even just murders on the evening news. I’m still very naïve. So what brought up this post, Michelle?

It happened last week. One morning a relative of mine woke up screaming and running out of the bedroom. We all hurried to his side and tried to stop him, but suddenly he slipped and fell to the floor, slamming his head onto the ground. Our hearts were beating probably as fast as his, and my stomach didn’t feel normal until later that evening. We aren’t exactly sure what happened, except that he wasn’t completely asleep and he had a dream something was in his room.

My best friend came in from Maryland after this episode, and I’m really glad our conversation lead up to it. She spoke of night terrors: dreams brought on mainly by stress. She remembers seeing a dark, faceless figure before her, as if Death himself was staring down at her. She also said she ran around her apartment, screaming, from him.

This relative of mine had done nothing for days but stay in his room and play video games for, say, 12 hours a day for at least 4 or 5 days. He would sleep until 5pm. His sleep schedule was off, but he also would eat very little and refused to spend any time with the rest of my family. Making excuses to play these games is his new talent.

Well everyone, this experience had shown me the power of addiction. Sure, it’s not drugs or alcohol, but video games have become his only means of social life and his only hobby. This is a proven problem. Naturally when we tried to show him, he wasn’t aware of his problem.

I know what addiction is. I’ve known since elementary school with the Just Say No club.

But seeing addiction, experiencing the fear in my loved one’s eyes with that nightmare, it is so terrifying. I had tears in my eyes all day. Video game addiction needs to be addressed. I need to be strong for him to get over this without any video games. It’s like taking all his friends away.

He isn’t getting enough support from the family… If you pray, I ask that you mention him once. And thank you if you can spare the time.

Growing up is sucking so far! One day soon I’ll find me and my purpose and it will be all better. I think? Ha!

❤ Michelle

2 thoughts on “Growing, Learning, and Becoming More Confused

  1. I hope your relative’s game addiction will be stop soon. I agree this type of addiction should be addressed and socialized so people play the game in responsible manner. That sounds unhealthy and gosh, we have beautiful world out there than to spend whole day inside a room and in front of the screen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

