Tempered Tuesday: 2

image

A Spring companion | Local life at the apartments

Bon après-midi, and all that jazz! I hope everyone’s week has started off swell. I know my week has improved from last week. Welcome to our second Tempered Tuesday! You can visit the first one here. I define “tempered” as I believe it can relate to life, and I shared some links that you might like to check out down at the bottom.

With the coming of Spring, I’ve noticed that I tend to thank God more often throughout the day for each little budding flower and scurrying squirrel.  Just walking to my classes, I want to stop and sit under a tree and listen to the happy mockingbirds chirping and singing and hopping about, chasing each other in their coquettish way. They were especially happy yesterday afternoon; there was not a cloud in the sky, and I could actually wear a jacket again! The weather was just beautiful; I wish I could have bottled it up and sent it to each one of you.

I noticed that that best landscaping and flower beds is located right in front of the engineering building. Why do they get the pretty flowers? (Because they bring in the most money…) Why can’t they dress up the Liberal Arts hall a little bit? Their roses are beautiful: reds and pinks. And those African Iris are just stunning… I want to pick some azaleas and make a bouquet for our dining table. They won’t miss a few branches, right?

There was a realization in my ponderings that I don’t indulge in His Word enough—I’m not as healthy of a follower as I thought I was. Of all these wonderful Spring events, including the Holi Festival this weekend, the most wonderful is coming up this Sunday: Easter. One of my favorite holidays; and yet a lot of times we are so consumed with candy and flowers and gifts and dressing up and dinner…that we forget why we even do all of these things. Guys—Jesus came back to life. Not a zombie, but a heavenly being. His human body disappeared, leaving behind the only sinless life any human has ever lived. He went through huge, rusty nails being hammered through his wrists and ankles and hanging, being pulled down by gravity, on a cross that he carried up a hill. He died with thieves. He did this for you, for me, for your neighbor, for the terrorists who don’t know Him. And when you think He’s left you because you are being thrown into all sorts of problems, just remember that He tests His followers. He won’t leave you alone. He only leaves those who are not followers.

My tempering this week has to do with my frail faith. I need to work on reading my Bible more often during the week, even if it isn’t every day at first. One day I’d like to get there. How do you want to temper your life? What can you do that will make you feel better about yourself?

______________________________

Here are some happies to lift up your week; remember, it’s almost halfway through! Have a smile. 🙂

  1. For you student pet owners or those looking for cute pet stories, my cousin has a blog you might want to check out about raising her hyperactive Aussie while working and being a full-time student! (Praises—it’s hard enough for me just to school.)
  2. I’m not a mom, but this sweet blog post from Simply Liv is an inspiring read! Just a 10-minute snapshot of motherhood and how quickly it can change.
  3. What’s your favorite literary tool? Mine has to be imagery, just like the author of this love-letter blogpost.
  4. A beautiful piano étude written by Liszt; its melody is an arpeggio, played by swapping hands for each note. Really neat to watch, give it a listen. I might use it as a writing exercise…
  5. These memes/comics are my new fave—check them out on Facebook and Instagram.

Have you any happies to share?

❤ Michelle

Leave a Reply

