Tempered Tuesday: 5

IMG_0191.JPG

Hello, lazy daisies! (Though I’m sure you are all busier than me.)

How are you? Have you had any triumphs this week? It’s been a while. Last week was my first week out of school, but also graduation week. I graduated from college on Friday with my Bachelor’s Degree in English! I feel liberated and suddenly hopeless and useless. Every time someone asks me what I plan on doing now, my stomach flips and I wonder what the purpose of life is. No, I have no plan. I have ideas. I want to work, and I assume that I will go back to get my Master’s Degree in about a year; but I don’t even know where or what in. What is my plan for now? Create, write, read, teach VBS at a local church, and play video games. Because I deserve it.

I must say, though, no one can lounge around forever. Recently I came across this video on Facebook and it opened my eyes to how ungrateful I am for what I have.

We aren’t well-off, or even comfortable financially. We don’t get everything we want (though it does seem close), and we really have to decide how to move money around to make sure to have money for rent and food.

One thing we aren’t is homeless. In a sense we might be, or we might have technically been for a spell, but we’ve never had to live somewhere outside a house. We always had a roof over our heads and a few people willing to help us along until we could catch our breaths. I don’t want my family to end up homeless. But what about those who are already there? I feel for those men and women who comb through trash and sleep on benches. No matter how little money I might have, I still have enough to share.

Do not neglect to show hospitality to strangers, for thereby some have entertained angels unawares. … Do not neglect to do good and to share what you have, for such sacrifices are pleasing to God.

-Hebrews 13:2, 16

The Bible says to share what we have; there are no footnotes here or any exceptions to this command. If you are Godly, no matter what your social status, you share whatever you have. The man in the video (linked above) shows us that you don’t have to have anything at all to share with others. Bless him.

So this week, my new tempering idea is to share what I have with those who are less fortunate than I. I have been selfish and have taken what I own for granted. It is past time to reach out to others, but it is never too late.

How can you temper your life this week? Is it a long process? All of mine seem to be. Work on what you’ve decided to temper even from Week #1. We’ll work on tempering ourselves together!


How about some happies to get you on your way?!

  1. This poem accurately portrays the perfect bacon morning on the weekend.
  2. Have you ever wanted to learn how to make your own latte art? I have! This video here by Whole Latte Love shows  you how. I guess I’ll need an espresso machine first…
  3. Here is an Etsy shop hosted by a man I met at our local Farmer’s Market. He is from Louisiana and crafts sterling silver jewelry as well as pendants with butterfly wings! Check out these gorgeous pieces. I love my sterling silver twisty ring!
  4. Ellen McCrimmon is an incredibly talented artist from the UK that I found on Instagram! Her artwork is simply gorgeous, especially her watercolored sea creatures. (I hope to include a product review on my blog in the near future with an item from her shop. Stay tuned!)
  5. Take a gander at these hilarious Harry Potter themed mugs . They will never get old! I think the two teacups are adork-able.

Just joining the Tempered Tuesday series?

Here’s Week One to explain what this is all about.

❤ Michelle

2 thoughts on “Tempered Tuesday: 5

Leave a Reply

