Dessert for Dinner: A Recipe Review

Long time, no type! Thanks for hanging around in my absence.

I’ll be honest and admit I’ve been pulling myself away from my laptop since I graduated this past May. It’s been a great, relaxing summer so far, but it’s about time to get back on some sort of (loose) schedule. Apart from playing video games, taking some flower arranging classes, and reorganizing my room with all of my belongings from campus, I’ve also started a short story. I haven’t finished the one I’ve been working on for nearly four years, but that one will come in time…right?

One thing that absolutely makes my heart soar, though, is all this time I have to bake! Have you seen Rosanna Pansino’s channel on YouTube? If you haven’t, please–do yourself a flavor. Check out Ro’s videos! I love baking, but she takes that love to a whole new level. Her playlist, Nerdy Nummies, is absolutely adorable.

gal 1.jpg

Before baking: see that yummy egg wash sprinkled with sugar?

Alas, I digress. Today I made some of my absolute favorite desserts: mini-blueberry galettes! One, blueberry; two, pastry. Nummy! I had these for the first time at our local farmers and artisans market. One of the bakers from a fancy restaurant opened her own little stand of sweet treats that makes my mouth water just looking at her sweet, pastel-colored display. There are coffee cakes, loaves of fresh bread, brownies, cookies, pies, and (best of all) the galettes. Oh, they are divine.

I searched Pinterest, because naturally that is the first place to go for recipes, for a simple and delicious recipe to satiate my newfound craving. A few of the prettier pictures caught my eye. Surprisingly, I ended up on The Pioneer Woman’s blog! I do love Ree and her recipes. I decided that, juxtaposed with my own foodie photoshoot, that I’d review this recipe of hers. This recipe was one that I have made twice so far.


HIGHLIGHTS

There are many things about The Pioneer Woman blog that I love and could write about all day, but I will focus only on this particular recipe.

To begin, she tells us the story behind naming her recipe, and all the tears and brainpower to go along with it. I’ve never come up with a recipe in order to name it, so imagining this predicament was pretty entertaining. The pictures on her blog are gorgeous, and her dishes are so eye-catching. Maybe that’s why her galettes look better than mine; they’re on prettier plates! Those vibrant blueberries in the red, floral bowl? Stunning. If there is one way to sell a recipe (aka, make someone try it), it is the addition of high-quality photos. I want to see real water droplets on my washed blueberries and the soft imperfections on its indigo skin. I get those indulgent feelings from her recipe; I want my creations to look this heavenly!

gal 2.jpg

Fresh out of the oven.

Not only does Ree tell her courageous home-baker what to use and how much of it, but also why in the world we would add it. Why do we add cornstarch? To thicken the blueberry filling, of course! To most seasoned bakers, this knowledge is almost common sense; but to occasional bakers, this tidbit is quite helpful.

I really do enjoy seeing each step in picture format. When I read a recipe out of an old cookbook, I find it difficult to know what my project is supposed to look like after each step. Maybe that’s why Pinterest is such a helpful recipe box!

Ree is a very talented writer and entertainer. I enjoy reading her plights and excitements in the kitchen as she seems to be making the recipe along with us. She keeps a very active and engaging tone, keeping me awake while I’m mixing and cutting and rolling, etc.

Lastly, her recipe card at the bottom is convenient for those not willing to read the rest of the post. Displayed on the very top of the card is the number of servings, the prep time, and the difficulty of making this dish. (Galettes are easy, of course.) The ingredients are in a bulleted list form, one very easy to read, and the directions beneath are precise and easy to follow.

The prep time for these “sweetie-pies” is only 10 minutes, and they bake for 15. If you have some leftover blueberries or they’re on sale at the grocery store, this recipe is easy to throw together at the last minute to bake before dinner. Or in our case, for dinner!


LET-DOWNS

As a writer, I take care to analyze the use of every word in a sentence and the inclusion of certain ideals. It is unsettling to read a very self-conscious blog post coming from a bright-eyed, TV personality. These belittling parts of her post either reflect her inner self-consciousness for humor purposes, or she is just using it as comic relief. I’m not attracted to this sort of humor in excess, and she uses it a bit too often here.

gal 4.jpg

Crispy, bubbly, drippy, crumbly goodness!

She comments on her finger looking silly in a photo, which probably wouldn’t have bothered many readers. Saying that your head is a mess is normal, but it felt out of place with the rest of this recipe for some reason.


SUMMARY

All-in-all, Ree has an outstanding recipe! The form is great, the ingredients are easy to find, and the directions are understandable and easy to follow. These galettes are so delicious; I know because I’ve made them twice now and can’t get enough of them. Just divine.

Blueberries are precisely my Second Favorite fruit and one of the best fruits of the summer. Did you know they contain awesome antioxidants? Add them to smoothies, cereal, yogurt, or oatmeal for some healthier choices. Heck—wash ’em up and eat them straight out of the bowl! Can you tell I can’t get enough of these blue beauties?

If you make any, I’d love to see them. Get creative with your dough!

❤ Michelle

gal 3.jpg

Leave a Reply

