October 4th

 

Ideas are like rabbits. You get a couple and learn how to handle them, and pretty soon you have a dozen.

 – John Steinbeck

Day 4

All day I wanted to drink a cold brew coffee with milk. My tongue never had the luxury of enjoying that flavor, though, and settled for some out of the pot instead. It was a funny-feeling October day; one where I’m not sure whether it was a good, normal, or a bad day. There were elements of all three, yet I’m not exceptionally happy or upset over it. Maybe it would have been a happy one with a cold brew… But I suppose I’ll never know.

My bunny, Ashes, loves the fall probably more than I do because she can finally run around the porch outside and not start panting in the heat. She hasn’t been able to go out yet, but within the next few days she will. Ashes smelled up and down the doorframe today, as if sensing the weather changing beneath her furry paws. We play for a long time today, just playing tug-of-war with straws of hay and playing a sort of tag or hide-and-seek. I’m not sure of the rules she plays by, but she is too big to hide and I’m never allowed to tag her unless she’s tired of running about the room like a wild stallion. We ended our playtime due to her approaching afternoon snooze, so she bumped her fuzzy nose on mine—her bunny kisses—and shuffled her blanket around for a comfy nap.

Tomorrow I’ll try to convince myself to go out and buy a Starbucks or CC’s cold brew and share coffee time with my furry companion out on the porch. I sure hope it doesn’t rain.

4 thoughts on “October 4th

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Five-Minute Free Writes | my curious monde

Leave a Reply

