October 14th

The odd thing about this form of communication is that you’re more likely to talk about nothing than something, but I just wanted to say that all of these nothings have meant more to me than so many somethings.

– You’ve Got Mail

Day 14

Perhaps some of us are becoming uninterested in snail mail when our friends and families are just a text or Facebook message away. Even e-mails are becoming archaic. I love receiving mail, along with some of you. There is something about the way that sealed, fat envelopes feel; smooth until the ridges of the stamp bump under my fingernail. The smell of that envelope…as if it had gone through so many adventures and still only smelled like the post office where I met it. The stamp glue scent usually lingers, too. I could flip it around in my hands forever, anticipating what could be awaiting inside.

To rip those sealed envelopes open is like breaking open a piñata with confetti and candies bursting from its shell. Not all mail is happy mail, but it still feels good to rip open neatly-sealed paper.

Ever had a pen pal? If you like mail, it’s the perfect hobby for you. You and your pal may not say anything important, but it might be the sweetest words you ever give or receive, and also comes with a bonus: you can hang onto them forever. You can reread those sweet words in your pal’s handwriting, with the smell of their house drifting from the text.

Do you enjoy receiving mail? What is your preferred kind: “snail mail,” e-mail, even text message or instant message? Is there another form of mail that you enjoy? Send me some mail below, and I’ll return the favor!

3 thoughts on “October 14th

  1. I had a pen pal once. She was a missionary nurse in Zimbabwe. She for transferred to another mission and I lost track of her. I really enjoyed our correspondence. I like any kind of messaging. This is fun and enjoyable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

