October 25th

I know no other sign of superiority than Goodness.

– Ludwig van Beethoven

Day 25

After filling out more job applications and running around town, I sat with Mittens on our wooden picnic table in the back yard. I fixed a cup of coffee with a pumpkin biscotti and pretzels with cheese. The weather is just sublime: clear, blue skies; cool breezes; leaves turning and floating on each breath of wind. It was a lovely and relaxing afternoon.

As we sat, and Mittens begged for cheese, an orange-colored honey bee landed beside us and strode around. I gave it some room, a little afraid of its stinger. (It hit my leg on its landing, so I was a little weary!) It tried to eat a tiny bit of a pretzel crumb that had fallen onto the table top, then stopped to rest behind my mug. It walked around a little, but its legs were laden with pollen and it rested still, showing signs of fatigue and possibly sickness. I was worried about the poor thing taking its last breaths. Mom consoled me, saying that it my have just been resting because it had too much pollen collected to fly.

Just in case, I surrounded it with a few flowers and branches, either giving it a funeral or giving it a slight bit of protection if it could move beneath them. I hope it wasn’t dying, but at least it spent its last moments with me.

Rain Lily: Day 2

 

Leave a Reply

