October 30th

collage-2

Baking creations: apple cider mummy cupcakes and tombstone brownies.

Linus: You don’t believe the story of the Great Pumpkin? I thought little girls always believed everything that was told to them. I thought little girls were innocent and trusting.

Sally: Welcome to the 20th century!

– It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

Day 30

We’ve almost made it, fellow 31-dayers!

Tomorrow marks one of my favorite holidays of the year, so I had to get started on my preparations today! I spent most of my afternoon baking after volunteering with the toddlers at church. We found some holiday-flavored cake mixes that I just had to try. Today I made a dozen apple cider cupcakes; and, boy, did they smell the part. I got the idea for the tombstone brownies from the Food Network Magazine. These were Betty Crocker Dark Chocolate Brownies with Pumpkin Spice Milano cookies as the tombstones. I actually recommend using the regular Milano cookies, because the pumpkin spice flavor was a bit much and got sickening really quick. I just had to try them because…pumpkin and spices and autumn.

collage-3

Mittens was sleeping on the job!

Cutting, gutting, and carving up pumpkins has to be one of my all-time favorite Halloween activities! I wish I had pumpkins around all year to carve for every holiday ever. From the slippery seeds to that tart smell, pumpkins are my soul mates. I always seem to choose the most round and fat pumpkin from the store or (if I’m lucky enough) the patch. Mittens sat right by us while we carved, sticking his nose inside the pumpkins to see if it was worth his time to take a taste.

collage-4

How we beverage; root beer floats and a chile mocha frapp.

I’ve been dying to try the Chile Mocha Frappuccino from Starbucks. I have a secret love for Mexican hot cocoa, and the hot version of this beloved coffee was so divine; it is a regular mocha with chile powder sprinkled inside and out. I heard the frozen one was even better, and I have to admit that I think it was. Do you have a favorite seasonal drink this season? Is it a new favorite, or a traditional treat? Will you be participating in any festivities tomorrow?

collage-1

Some pretties I found for you today. ❤ Cosmos | Gerber Daisy | Lady Bug

One thought on “October 30th

Leave a Reply

