Cocoa #7: Crock Pot Mexican Hot Cocoa

12-ways-to-hot-cocoa

I’m not sure how, but the frogs, crickets, and mosquitoes are somehow still thriving down here. I thought it was December…?

How are all of you this week? Had a happy weekend? I had an enjoyable one, myself. We were able to buy a tree and decorate it yesterday. It was so much fun! We wore Christmas hats, sang and danced around to the traditional tunes, and ate merrily a plateful of lasagna. (Oh, and don’t forget the French Onion Dip.)

Waking up to see the Christmas tree every morning is a blessing, and it is just so exciting! I love the smell of fir trees. Having one in the home is so relaxing and nostalgic. Even just walking by, seeing all of our hand-picked ornaments and the cozy air it fills makes me feel so joyful.


For all of you who aren’t still wearing short sleeves outside, dodging mosquitoes and pouring rain, I’ve come up with a cocoa with a kick! Today we’re trying Mexican Hot Cocoa, and our method of cooking will be the slow cooker. I named it Crock Pot because mine is that brand; here I’m using my mother’s (Family Chef), so any slow cooker will do!

You’ll need to gather these ingredients before you start:

  • 1/3 cup Bittersweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1 tbsp Cocoa Powder + 1/3 cup Hot Water
  • 7 oz (1/2 can) Condensed Milk
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1 tsp Chili Powder
  • 1/4 tsp Cayenne Pepper
  • 4 cups Milk

day-7-1

First you’ll want to mix your Cocoa Powder with the hot water to make sure it’s mixed up well and not rolling into balls. Next, add all the rest of the ingredients into your slow cooker, and turn the heat on Low.

day-7-2

Cook for 2 hours, stirring every 30 minutes to make sure the chocolate isn’t sticking to the bottom.

day-7-3

Then you’re ready to serve! Straight out of the pot. Everyone will be fired up with this cocoa in their bellies. It will make you warm from your tongue to your toes!

day-7-4

I added marshmallows and chili powder to the top as a garnish, so feel free to come up with your own creative design! We’ve made a few cocoas, so now you are an expert at topping them. 😉

7


Let me know if you tried this recipe and if you liked it! If you have a different way of making spicy cocoa, I’d love to hear. And if you want to visit the very first cocoa in this series, visit My Basic Cocoa recipe!

❤ Michelle

4 thoughts on “Cocoa #7: Crock Pot Mexican Hot Cocoa

  1. Pingback: Fall Favorites | my curious monde

Leave a Reply

